Overview of Trauma

This unique course gives a basic overview of trauma written in non-technical language for human service providers and healthcare professionals. It describes four distinct categories of trauma: Event, Developmental, Epigenetic/Intergenerational, and Complicated. It explains how these four categories are not only very different clinically, but also identifies the specific intervention and healing protocols that each requires.

This very practical course also presents Weinholds’ Trauma Continuum framework that differentiates between shock, trauma, and stress states. This framework is based on the parts of the brain and nervous system involved, and a person’s orientation to time. It also includes specific treatment protocols that are essential for providing appropriate and ethical interventions for these distinct states.

Not Enrolled

Course Includes

  • 6 Lessons
  • 25 Topics
  • 3 Quizzes
  • Course Certificate